MUMBAI: Cricketing icons Sachin Tendulkar and Sunil Gavaskar are among eight former international cricketers who are ‘ineligible’ to vote in the elections of the Bombay Cricket Association (MCA) on October 20 because they did not submit their MCA voter ID card before the poll.
On Friday, election official JS Saharia released a list of eight former international cricketers – Tendulkar, Gavaskar, Agarkar, Manjrekar, Paras Mhambrey, Wasim Jaffer, Vinod Kambli and Avishkar Salvi – stating that “the following former international cricketers n “It’s very unfortunate,” said former Indian batsman Sandeep Patil, who has been running for the post of MCA chairman since 2016. Bombay Cricket group, told TOI.
“(Before leaving for Australia to comment on the T20 World Cup on TV), Sunil had even completed the registration form for former Indian cricketers, but you also need to prepare an ID card. voter, which he and some of the others (to go to Australia) didn’t have time for, because they were told at the last minute (about it),” Patil informed.
“Yes, it’s not done. I couldn’t vote anyway because I’m not in India. I will do that for future reference,” Jaffer, who is currently the batting consultant for the Bangladesh Under-19 and Bangladesh High Performance Team (‘A’ side), told this Dhaka newspaper.
Patil, who solicited votes from former Indian cricketers, had asked the MCA election official if Gavaskar and other former cricketers who would be busy with international assignments could vote online in the election, but that request was rejected.
β€œThe notice was too short for them to do it. They need to change the election rules for that,” Patil said. Overall, 43 former internationals – 25 men and 16 women – have been deemed eligible to vote in these high-profile MCA elections by Saharia.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *