Asian Hockey Federation CEO Tayyab Ikram elected as new FIH president | Hockey News

LAUSANNE: Asian Hockey Federation (AHF) CEO Mohammad Tayyab Ikram of Pakistan was elected Saturday new president of the International Hockey Federation (FIH), succeeding India Narinder Batra as a full-time chef.
Ikram defeated Belgian Marc Coudron 79-47 at the 48th FIH Congress.
Of 129 national associations, 126 cast valid votes.
Ikram’s term will be two years to complete the term of the previous leader, Batra, who resigned on July 18.
Seif Ahmed was the acting president of the FIH after Batra resigned from the top post after the Delhi High Court ordered him to cease functioning as the head of the Indian Olympic Association (IOA).
Batra, who became FIH president in 2016, resigned from his post in July. He also renounced his membership in the International Olympic Committee (IOC) which was directly linked to his position at the IOA.
The FIH Executive Board consists of a President; eight ordinary members – four women and four men – half renewed every two years; an athlete representative; Presidents of Continental Federations; CEO; any member (without voting rights) co-opted to the Executive Committee in accordance with article 7.1 (c) of the FIH Statutes.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl