Ahead of Gujarat Elections, BJP Wins Major Polls in Bihar, Haryana, UP, Odisha | News from India

BJP’s winning streak in the polls continued on Sunday with a 4 out of 6 score that came with bonuses like giving a reality check to the redesigned Grand Alliance of foreign ally Nitish Kumar in Bihar, inflicting on Naveen Patnaik, driven from BJD, his first defeat in Odisha’s by-election in 13 years, the TRS run near Telangana’s Munugode and seeing Congress make a vacuum across the board.
Of the seven seats in six states that went into the election on November 3, the BJP had granted a lift to Mumbai’s Andheri East seat, virtually giving Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackeray faction a ride in its first election battle since the coup from the current division of CM Eknath Shinde its ranks. In the absence of BJP, NOTE finished second ahead of the six independents vying for the winning candidate Rutuja Latke.
Telangana’s Munugode poll, which BJP had treated as a test case ahead of the biggest battle for the state, produced a major blow to Congress and a head-to-head race between the two main contenders that saw Kusukuntla Prabhakar Reddy. of TRS move away from Komatireddy of BJP Raj Gopal Reddy on the last lap wins with 10,309 votes. Congress has lost its filing for the third time in five polling stations in Telangana since 2018.

In Odisha, BJP’s Suryabanshi Suraj retained the Dhamnagar seat that was last held by his late father Bishnu Charan Sethi further eroding BJD’s vote share from 45% in 2019 to 43%. BJD’s first poll loss since 2009 is seen as a setback for CM Naveen ahead of next month’s Padampur by-election and 2024 state elections.
“We have lost very few by-elections. I always respect people’s verdict. The Honorable Bisnu Charan Sethi recently passed away and was quite a popular leader. The BJP held the position for several years. His son was given the ticket. They were expected to win, “said the CM, who had campaigned to lose candidate Abanti Das. Congress performance in Dhamnagar plummeted to a low of 3,561 votes, relegating it to fourth place in the competition.

survey (2)

Haryana saw the third generation of former CM Bhajan Lal’s clan fly the BJP flag for the first time at the Adampur headquarters in Hisar district. Bhavya Bishnoi, Bhajan Lal’s 29-year-old grandson, defeated Congressman Jai Prakash with 15,740 votes to make this his extended family’s sixteenth constituency victory in just over five decades. The seat belonged to Congress until Bhavya’s father, Kuldeep Bishnoi, moved to the BJP and resigned from the assembly. BJP now has 41 MLAs in the 90-member House.
The BJP’s fourth win out of six polling contests came at Gola Gokarannath in UP’s Lakhimpur Kheri, which it held thanks to the victory of 26-year-old political novice Aman Giri over Vinay Tiwari of the Samajwadi party with over 34,000 votes. Aman’s margin of victory surpassed that of his late father Arvind Giri in the assembly polls earlier this year. Tiwari blamed his loss of “BJP which created an environment of terror that led to low voter turnout (by 57.4%)”. CM Yogi Adityanath tweeted a thank you to the BJP voters and workers after the result. The BJP currently holds all eight assembly seats in the Lakhimpur Kheri district.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *