NEW DELHI: Congress abandoned five incumbent MLAs and retained seven others as it released its final list of 37 candidates on Wednesday for the second round of next month’s two-stage assembly elections in Gujarat.
With the latest list, Congress has concluded its exercise in selecting candidates for all 179 seats it will contest. The party vacated three seats – Umreth, Naroda and Devgadh Baria – for the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) as part of their pre-poll alliance.
Elections in all 182 constituencies will be held on 1 December (89 seats) and 5 December (93 seats). Vote counting will resume on December 8.
The sitting MLAs dropped by the Congress are: Bharatji Thakor (Becharaji constituency), Jashubhai Patel (Bayad), Rajesh Gohil (Dhandhuka), Niranjan Patel (Petlad) and Vajesingh Panada (Dahod).
Opposition party retained MLA on seven seats namely: Palanpur (Mahesh Patel), Deodar (Shiva Bhuriya), Viramgam (Lakha Bharwad), Thasra (Kanti Parmar), Kapadvanj (Kalabhai Dabhi), Balasinor (Ajitsinh Chauhan) and Padra (Jashpalsinh Padhiyar).

WhatsApp Image 11/16/2022 at 18:55.01.

Congress gave its former MLA Mahendrasinh Vaghela a ticket for Bayad constituency.
Vaghela, son of former prime minister Shankersinh Vaghela, had won from Bayad in 2012 on a congressional ticket. He switched allegiance to the BJP ahead of the 2017 polls, but did not contest the previous election. He left the BJP and rejoined Congress recently.
For Kalol’s seat in the Panchmahal district currently represented by the BJP, the Congress gave a ticket to former Panchmahal BJP MP Prabhatsinh Chauhan.
Notably, Chauhan’s daughter-in-law is the current MLA but the BJP has not reappointed her. Chauhan, 81, is perhaps the oldest candidate in the upcoming elections.
He has sulked since being denied a ticket by the BJP for the 2019 Lok Sabha polls and recently joined Congress.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *