KATHMANDU: Nepalese Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba was elected on Wednesday with a huge margin of votes in the House of Representatives for the seventh consecutive time, with his decision Nepali Congress party tops the electoral tally, winning 13 seats so far.
Elections to the House of Representatives (HoR) and seven provincial assemblies were held on Sunday. The counting of votes began on Monday.
Deuba won 25,534 votes against his nearest rival, Sagar Dhakal, an independent candidate in Dadeldhura constituency in far western Nepal. Dhakal only received 1,302 votes. Deuba has never lost a parliamentary election in the five decades of his political career.
Nepali Congress President Deuba, 77, is currently serving as prime minister for a fifth term.
Dhakal is a young engineer, who had a verbal quarrel with Deuba during a public debate on a BBC Sajha Sawal show five years ago, after which he decided to challenge Deuba saying that now young people should have a chance in politics and old people like Deuba should step down.
Nepal’s ruling Congress has so far won 13 seats in the House of Representatives (HoR) while leading in 54 other constituencies.
Its allied parties – CPN-Maoist and CPN-Unified Socialist, Lokatantraik Samajwadi Party – are in the lead with 17, 7 and 3 seats respectively.
The CPN-UML led by former Prime Minister KP Oli has so far won three seats and is leading in 45 constituencies. Its allied parties – the Rastriya Prajatantraj Party and the Janata Samajwadi Party – are in the lead with 5 seats each.
The newly formed Rastriya Swotantra party won three seats in Kathmandu district.
The Rastriya Prajatantra party and the Nagarik Unmukti party won one seat each.
The CPN-UML received the highest number of votes under the proportional electoral system, with the party winning 2,07,299 votes, followed by the Nepalese Congress with 1,83,352 votes. The Rastriya Swotantra party is third with 95,598 votes while the CPN-Maoist received 86,433 votes. Similarly, the CPN Unified Socialist obtained 10,919 votes.
Out of 275 deputies, 165 will be elected by direct suffrage, while the remaining 110 will be elected by proportional representation. Likewise, out of a total of 550 members of the seven provincial assemblies, 330 will be elected by direct suffrage and 220 by proportional representation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *