Specialised camp for Indian dragflickers and goalkeepers ahead of hockey World Cup | Hockey News

NEW DELHI: Indian men’s hockey team are sparing no effort in their preparations for the upcoming FIH Men’s World Cup as they will attend a week-long specialist camp to hone their goalscoring as well as goal-saving skills from Wednesday at SAI Central Bangalore.
The camp, which ends on December 20, will focus on improving dragflick and goalkeeping skills under the watchful eyes of the two-time Olympic champion from the Netherlands. Bram Lomans and Denis Van De Pol.
While Lomans will work with the Indian dragflickers, fellow countryman Van De Pol will tweak the goalkeepers ahead of the tournament to be held in Bhubaneswar and Rourkela from January 13-29.
The specialty camp will be part of the two-week National Coaches Camp, which began on Monday.
“We are grateful to Hockey India and SAI for hosting this special dragflick and goalie camp ahead of the World Cup. It’s a great opportunity to get some world-class specialized training and it will definitely help provide the right tools and strategies to our dragflickers and goalkeepers,” said the Indian head coach. Graham Reid said in a statement.
“It will be an important camp for us. There are a few critical aspects of our game that need improvement based on the assessment of the Australian tour.
“The players have had a week’s break after returning from Adelaide and I think they will be physically and mentally fresh when they report to camp,” added Reid.
India will depart on December 27 for Rourkela, where they will start their World Cup campaign against England on January 13.
Probable base group for the World Cup: Krishan Bahadur Pathak, PR Sreejesh, Suraj Karkera, Jarmanpreet Singh, Abandon KumarHarmanpreet Singh, Varun KumarAmit Rohidas, Gurinder Singh, Jugraj Singh, Mandeep Mor, Nilam Sanjeep Xess, Sanjay, Yashdeep Siwach, Dipsan Tirkey, Manpreet Singh, Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar PrasadMoirangthem Rabichandra Singh, Shamsher Singh, Nilakanta Sharma, Rajkumar Pal, Sumit, Akashdeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Mohd Raheel, Maninder Singh, S Karthi, Mandeep Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Abhishek, Dilpeet Singh, Sukhjeet Singh.
(With PTI entries)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl