Dhruv Shorey slams unbeaten double century as Delhi take control against Assam in Ranji Trophy | Cricket News

GUWAHATI: Dhrūv Shorey hit a brilliant undefeated double century guiding Delhi around 439 the whole second day of their Ranji Trophy Group B match against Assam on Wednesday.
The 30-year-old fly-half continued where he left off on Tuesday, compiling his runs quickly until he finally ran out of partners at Barsapara Cricket Stadium.
By the end of the match, Assam had 158 points from four and trailed Delhi by 281 points.
Shorey, who was undefeated on 139 on Tuesday, eventually ended up making 252 unbeaten, with his innings strewn with 34 limits and two sixes.
The Delhi cricketer did not sacrifice run rate as he approached the double century mark, scoring his runs on 315 deliveries at a healthy 80 strike rate.
It’s Shorey’s highest first-class score in 45 games, his previous record being 145. The double century will do more good for his already healthy 48.49 batting average.
Starting day two on 271 for seven, Shorey first lost overnight partner Vikas Mishra, who added just 11 points to his tally before being dismissed by Assam’s left-arm bowler , Mrinmoy Dutta, for 22 points.
Sensing he would eventually run out of partners, Shorey took the majority of the shot, scoring at a brisk pace as Delhi broke through the 400-point mark, thanks to the veteran’s 91-point partnership with last man Harshit Rana (24).
Assam started their innings on a dismal note, losing skipper Kunal Saikia for 12 while Rahul Hazarika was pulled out injured on four. Soon Riyan Parag was dismissed for 10, while Sibsankar Roy also left for a duck, leaving the hosts faltering on 60 for four.
Rishav Das (71 at bat) was then involved in the salvage act along with Gokul Sharma (39 at bat) and the duo ensured Assam closed the day at 158 ​​for four for 44 overs.
Short scores:
At Guwahati: Delhi 439 all in 110.1 overs (Dhruv Shorey 252 not out, Vaibhav Rawal 43; Mrinmoy Dutta 3/79, Sidharth Sarmah 3/53) v Assam 158 for 4 overs in 44 (Rishav Das 71 batting, Gokul Sharma 39 hitter; Prasun Vijayran 3/31). Assam trail by 281 tracks.
In Coimbatore: Andhra 297 all out in 100.1 overs (Abhishek Reddy 85, Ricky Bhui 68, Karan Shinde 55; Sandeep Warrier 3/64, R Sai Kishore 3/73) against Tamil Nadu 273 for 4 overs in 77 (Sai ​​Sudharsan 113, Baba Aparajith 88). Tamil Nadu trail by 24 tracks.
In Mumbai: Mumbai 651 for 6 decl in 127.2 overs (Yashasvi Jaiswal 162, Suryakumar Yadav 90, Ajinkya Rahane 204, Sarfaraz Khan 126 not out; Katikeya Kak 3/106) vs Hyderabad 173 for 6 in 50 overs (Tanmay Agarwal 40 , Rohit Rayudu 72 at bat; Shams Mulani 5/76). Hyderabad trail by 478 tracks.
In Rajkot: Maharashtra 472 for 7 overs in 173 (Ruturaj Gaikwad 65, Naushad Shaikh 101, Ankit Bawne 96, Saurabh Nawale 72, Ashay Palkar 51 batting) against Saurashtra.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *