New Zealand cricket team returns to Pakistan for Test and ODI series | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: A year after abandoning their tour for security reasons, the New Zealand cricket team led by Tim Southee returned to Pakistan on Thursday for 2 rounds of Tests which will be followed by three ODIs.
The Kiwis are now the third team to visit Pakistan in 2022 after Australia and England.
Earlier, in September last year, New Zealand sparked frustration in Pakistan after they decided not to appear for the Rawalpindi test and shockingly returned home.
The Kiwis’ arrival comes just days after England shut out Pakistan at home in a three-game Test series that saw the hosts’ cricket board chief sacked.

New Zealand’s current 15-man squad is led by veteran pacer Southee and they will begin the tour with the first Test in Karachi from Monday.
The second test will take place in Multan from January 3, followed by one-day internationals on January 10, 12 and 14 in Karachi.
Pakistan announced a 16-man squad for the Test series on Wednesday, with a recall of fast bowler Hasan Ali.
Spearhead Shaheen Shah Afridi is missing with a knee injury.
The Test series against New Zealand will give Pakistan a chance to improve their performance after a humiliating defeat at the hands of England.
New Zealand halted a tour in 2002 when a bomb attack outside their hotel in Karachi killed 14 people, including French navy personnel. They returned in 2003 but avoided the mega port city.
Pakistan then became a banned destination for international cricket in 2009 when the Sri Lankan team’s bus was attacked, forcing Pakistan to play home matches in neutral venues, mostly in the United Arab Emirates.
But international cricket has gradually returned since 2015 following major security improvements and this year has been a great season at home with visits from Australia, England and New Zealand.
New Zealand team: Tim Southee (captain), Michael Bracewell, Tom Blundell, Devon Conway, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Neil Wagner, Kane Williamson, Will Young
(With contributions from AFP)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl