NEW DELHI: The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the squads for the T20I and ODI series against Sri Lanka on Tuesday, starting January 3. Rohit Sharma, who is recovering from a thumb injury, will miss the T20I 3-game series and return to lead the team in the ODIs.
Versatile Hardik Pandya has been named skipper of the T20I series and will have Suryakumar Yadav as his deputy.

Virat Kohli and KL Rahul are also not part of the shortest format and there is an indication that the duo with Rohit might not be chosen again keeping the T20 World Cup 2024 in mind.
Pandya, who led Gujarat Titans to IPL triumph last edition, was touted as Rohit’s replacement after India lost to England in the T20 World Cup semi-finals by playing archaic cricket.
While Rohit is still recovering from a dislocated thumb, the BCCI press release does not indicate whether this is a permanent change or just for a streak.

“Yes, there will be no official announcement that Rohit has been removed from the T20I captaincy, but he, Kohli and Rahul will be phased out of the format. has not fully recovered although he has started training. But the phase-out has indeed started,” a senior BCCI source familiar with the development told PTI on condition of anonymity.
Rishabh Pant is not on either white ball squad and it is understood he has been asked to report to the NCA for a two-week knee-strengthening rehabilitation program. Therefore, he will miss the entire Sri Lanka series.
Interestingly, Hardik has been appointed as Rohit’s assistant for the ODIs and Rahul will play in the team as a wicket-keeper-beater.
The out of form Shikhar Dhawan has also been dropped from the ODI squad.
Indian uncapped pacers and IPL big buys Shivam Mavi and Mukesh Kumar got early T20I calls. Mavi was picked by Titans for Rs 6 crore, while Bengal’s Mukesh was snapped by Delhi Capitals for Rs 5.50 crore.
Ruturaj Gaikwad and Rahul Tripathi, two powerful IPL performers, came to the side of T20.
The ODI squad have a more experienced look with Mohammed Shami returning from a shoulder injury.
Indian team for Sri Lanka’s T20Is: Hardik Pandya (captain), Ishan Kishan (wk), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.
Indian team for Sri Lanka ODIs: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohd . Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.

(With PTI entries)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *