India Women’s T20 World Cup 2023: Harmanpreet Kaur to lead 15-member squad, Smriti Mandhana named vice-captain | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Harmanpreet Kaur will lead Team India in the future Women’s T20 World Cup in February, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced on Wednesday. The All-India Women’s Selection Committee has chosen a strong 15-member squad that will Smriti Mandhana as Harmanpreet’s deputy at the ICC’s flagship event.
Along with the T20 World Cup squad, the board also announced the squad for the tri-series in South Africa which will take place before the cricket extravaganza.

Veteran pacer Shikha Pandey was also named to the squad for the tournament. Shikha last played for India in October 2021 before being controversially dropped from the squad.
The T20 World Cup will take place in South Africa next year and the Indian team are set to start their campaign on February 12 against Pakistan in Cape Town.
India are placed in Group 2 alongside Pakistan, England, West Indies, Pakistan and Ireland. The two best teams of the two groups will play the semi-finals. The final will take place on February 26, 2023 in Cape Town.
India’s squad for the 2023 ICC Women’s T20 World Cup: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (Vice-Captain), Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia (wk), Richa Ghosh (wk) Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Radha Yadav, Renuka Thakur, Anjali Sarvani, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shikha Pandey
Reservations: Sabbhineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Meghna Singh.
To note: Pooja Vastrakar’s inclusion in the squad is subject to fitness

The Indian team for the tri-series: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Yastika Bhatia (wk), Jemimah Rodrigues, Harleen Deol, Deepti Sharma, Devika Vaidya, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Radha Yadav, Renuka Thakur, Meghna Singh, Anjali Sarvani, Shushma Verma (week), Amanjot Kaur, Pooja Vastrakar, Sabbhineni Meghana, Sneh Rana, Shikha Pandey



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl