NEW DELHI: Star India non-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin said it was surprising to see so many ‘taboos’ regarding the ‘Mankad’ form of dismissal and asked why bowlers were still subjected to different ‘treatments’ .
Veteran Indian Pacer Mohammad Chami tried to wear himself out Dasun Shanaka on the non-attacking side when the batter left the crease stepping back in the ODI opener in Guwahati on January 10.
However, Indian skipper Rohit Sharma intervened and withdrew the appeal in Shami as Shanaka, then 98 years old, completed his century.
Ashwin, who is a strong proponent of the form of dismissal, backed Shami on Saturday, saying it’s the umpire’s duty to call the batter out.
“Of course, Shami is short… When Shanaka was in 98, Shami chased him to the non-attacking side, and he appealed as well. Rohit withdrew that appeal. So many people tweeted about it immediately,” Ashvin said on his YouTube channel.

King Kohli’s ODI Engine Hall | Shanaka’s exhaustion | India vs Sri Lanka ODI | SA20 | R Ashvin

“I’m going to keep repeating just one thing, guys. The game situation doesn’t matter. It’s a legitimate form of dismissal.”
During the post-match presentation, Rohit said he was withdrawing the appeal against Shanaka as the Lankan skipper was in 98.
Shanaka eventually finished his innings at 108 not even though Sri Lanka lost the match by 67 runs.
“If you ask for an LBW call or a late picked up call, no one will check with the captain if they’re sure about the call,” Ashwin said.

“They’ll give it if the bowler appeals, and that’s it. You see, even if a defender appeals, it’s the umpire’s duty to call a player if he’s out.
“So I find it very surprising that there are so many taboos around this method of dismissal. But all dismissal is about what the bowler does, isn’t it?
“The right to make that dismissal or to make that appeal or to make that decision belongs to the bowler, doesn’t it,” he said.
Drawing an analogy to an outgoing batter, Ashwin said: “In so many games a batter has nicked and walked without waiting for the umpire’s decision.
“At that time, the captain of the batting team will not come and ask, ‘With whose permission did you walk like that? Did you forget the cause of the team? Go back and keep playing.

“These different treatments for bowlers and batters have been happening for so many years now,” he added.
Such outs when a non-attacking batter is out of the crease while backing up before the bowler releases the ball are known as “Mankading”.
The name comes from the first mode of dismissal recorded by Vinou Mankad when he beat Bill Brown twice in the 1947-48 Test against Australia.
In October last year, the International Cricket Council amended its rulebook stating that outs at the bowler’s end were no longer considered “foul play”.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *