Law enforcement officers control the scene of a shooting in Half Moon Bay, Calif., on Monday, January 23. (Jeff Chiu/AP)

Deputies were alerted to a shooting in unincorporated San Mateo County at 2:22 p.m. PT (5:22 p.m. ET), San Mateo Sheriff Christina Corpus said at a press conference Monday evening.

Upon arrival, deputies found four people dead with gunshot wounds. A fifth victim was taken to Stanford Medical Center and is in critical condition. Three other victims were later found at a separate shooting scene, Corpus said.

As of 4:40 p.m. PT (7:40 p.m. ET), Corpus says the suspected shooter — a 67-year-old man from Half Moon Bay — was arrested without incident. At that time, a handgun was found in his vehicle, Corpus said.

He acted alone and his motive is unknown, Corpus said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *