DUBAI: Swashbuckling India’s middle-order batsman Suryakumar Yadav, who made an outstanding run in the shortest format of the year 2022, was named the ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year by the sport’s world governing body.
Surya had a phenomenal run last year where he broke a plethora of records in the T20Is.
Popularly known as ‘SKY’, the 32-year-old amassed 1,164 points in 31 T20I games with an average of 46.56 and a strike rate of 187.43 last year.
He beat people like Sam Curranpakistani wicket keeper Mohammad Rizwan and versatile Zimbabwean drummer Sikandar Raza for the highest honor.
However, India’s vice-captain and last year’s cricketer Smriti Mandhana lost to Australian Tahlia McGrath in the women’s category.
In 2022, Surya became just the second hitter to make 1000+ runs in a calendar year in the T20Is and finished the year as the top run-getter.
Surya hit a stunning 68 six during the year, easily the most recorded by anyone in a year in the format’s history.
The Indian has been his team’s key batsman throughout the year, breaking two hundred and nine half centuries.
Surya was at her best during the ICC 2022 Men’s T20 World Cup in Australia, recording three fifty in six innings and an average of nearly 60. Notably, his strike rate was once again over the top at 189.68.
Having already recorded a ton earlier in the year, Suryakumar continued his stellar year after the multi-nation tournament, scoring his second T20I cent in the bilateral series in New Zealand.
Surya also became the highest-ranked T20 player, reaching a career-high 890 points.
(With PTI entries)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *