Yogi Adityanath now CM with longest continuous tenure in UP | Lucknow News

LUCKNOW: After setting the record of becoming the first Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh to be re-elected after completing a full five-year term and breaking Noida jinx, Yogi Adityanath became the CM to have had the longest continuous stint in the state since independence.
On Tuesday, Yogi completed 5 years and 347 days in office, breaking the record of Congressman Dr. Sampurnanand who served as UP CM for 5 years and 345 days from 1954 to 1960. BSP’s Mayawati was the first CM after Sampurnanand to last the full term. But his term of office between 2007 and 2012 was 4 years and 307 days, after which his party was eliminated.
The next CM also Akhilesh Yadav of SP served the full term and the term of his term was 5 years and 4 days after which the BJP swept the ballot box in 2017 and Yogi became the Chief Minister. In March 2022, the BJP won a historic consecutive term under Yogi in UP and continued to be the CM.
The state’s first CM, Govind Ballabh Pant, had the longest continuous run in the region, but between 1 April 1946 and 23 January 1950, he was the Prime Minister of the United Provinces. His tenure as UP CM began on January 24, 1950 and lasted until December 28, 1954 (4 years 336 days), after which he became the Union Home Secretary.
As for the cumulative tenure, Mayawati, who has served as UP CM four times, leads the way with a total term of more than seven years. Mulayam Singh Yadav, with three terms as CM, served just under seven years.
First, Yogis Adityanath it had also broken Noida’s jinx of previous UP CMs – that visiting the district meant the incumbent and his party would not be voted back into power. Yogi visited the district more than a dozen times in his previous tenure and returned as the UP CM for a historic second time in March 2022.
“Thanks to his vision, the CM broke Noida’s bad luck. The UP believed that if a CM visited Noida, he would lose his job. Due to this fear, many CMs have never visited Noida, however, in the past six years, Yogi Adityanath must have visited Noida at least 25 times and he was also sworn in as a CM for the second time on 25th March 2022,” said a government spokesman.
UP CM with over 3 years of continuous operation
Yogi Adityanath (BJP) — 5 years 347 days (in service) — 2017-23
Dr Sampurnanand (Cong) — 5 years 345 days — 1954-60
Akhilesh Yadav (SP) — 5 years 4 days — 2012-17
GB Pant (Cong) — 4 years 336 days — 1950-54
Mayawati (BSP) — 4 years 307 days — 2007-12
MS Yadav (SP) — 3 years 257 days — 2003-2007


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl