Aiden Markram replaces Temba Bavuma as new T20I captain for South Africa | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Aiden Markram was named the new captain of the T20I for South Africa with the three-game series against the West Indies later this month being his first assignment. The 28-year-old hitter replaced Temba Bavumawho stepped down as captain of the T20I last month.
Bavuma will instead focus on his role as test and one-day international skipper, with Wednesday’s second game of five days against the touring Caribbean side set to be followed by three ODIs between March 16-21.
fast bowlers Anrich Nortje And Kagiso Rabada have been rested for those matches but will return for the T20 matches which will be played from March 25-28.
Seamer Gerald Coetzee and hitters Tony de Zorzi and Tristan Stubbs earned early calls to the 50-plus team, while Ryan Rickelton is back on the back of prolific national form at bat.
Bjorn Fortuin has been added as a rotation option to the T20 squad with Keshav Maharaj out. There’s also no room for slugger Rassie van der Dussen in the shorter format.
ODI squad (first two matches): Temba Bavuma (captain), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Tony de Zorzi, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Wiaan Mulder, Lungi Ngidi, Ryan Rickelton, Andile Phehlukwayo, Tristan Stubbs, Lizaad Williams, Rassie van der Dussen.
T20 Team: Aiden Markram (Captain), Quinton de Kock, Bjorn Fortuin, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Wayne Parnell, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Tabraiz Shamsi, Tristan Stubbs.
(With Reuters entries)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl