NCP: Sharad Pawar’s NCP decides not to sit in opposition in Nagaland, accepts leadership of Neiphiu Rio | News from India

MUMBAI: In a major political development, Nationalist Congress Party chief Sharad Pawar has decided that his party will not play the role of opposition in Nagaland and accepts the leadership of Prime Minister Neiphiu Rio in the state where the BJP is allied with the NDPP.
However, there is no clarification as to whether the PCN will be part of the government or will support the government only from the outside.
The move is significant and is likely to have political implications in Maharashtra, where NCP is allied with Congress and Shiv Sena’s Uddhav Thackeray faction.
The move comes after the NCP’s Nagaland unit and the party’s victorious 7 MLAs pledged support for the government in the “best interests of the state”. The step comes days after the national general secretary of the party and Northeast group leader Narendra Verma he said by telephone that the party was considering submitting a proposal for the post of opposition leader to the Nagaland Assembly.
According to a March 8 release from Verma, the first meeting of the NCP Legislative Party was held on March 4 in Kohima.
“In the aforementioned meeting there was a discussion on who will be the NCP Legislative Party leader, deputy leader, head of the whip, whip and spokesman, the statement said.
Er Picto Shohe was decided to be the leader of NCP legislative party, P Longon as Dy. NCP Legislative Party Leader, Namri Nchang as Chief Whip, Y Mhonbemo Humtsoe such as Whip and S. Toiho Yeptho as spokesperson, according to the release.
“There was also discussion whether the NCP will be part of the government or play the role of main opposition party. The newly elected local MLA and the local unit of Nagaland NCP were of the opinion that we must be part of the government which will be led by N Rio, Head of Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) and Chief Minister of Nagaland in the wider interest of Nagaland State and our good relations with N Rio,” the statement read.
The final decision was left to Sharad Pawar, who on Tuesday after listening to the head of the North East, made the decision to accept the leadership of N Rio.
“And subsequently also canceled the proposed list of the NCP Legislative Party leader and his team,” the statement said.
Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leader Neiphiu Rio was sworn in as prime minister of Nagaland for the fifth time on Tuesday.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and Nagaland Governor La Ganesan, BJP President JP Nadda and Assam CM Himanta Biswa Sarma watch swearing-in ceremony in Kohima.
Taditui Rangkau Zeliang AND Yanthungo Patton he was also sworn in as Deputy Chief Minister of Nagaland.
The ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party-Bharatiya Janata Party alliance maintained power in Nagaland elections, with the two parties securing 37 seats in the 60-member assembly, according to data from the Electoral Commission of India (ECI ).


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl