Legislative Congress Party Authorizes Party Chief Mallikarjun Kharge to Choose Karnataka CM | Karnataka Election News

NEW DELHI: Suspense remains over who will become Karnataka’s next prime minister, as the Congress Legislature Party (CLP) unanimously passed a resolution on Sunday authorizing party chairman Mallikarjun Kharge to make the decision.


“The Congress Legislature Party unanimously decides that the president of the AICC is authorized to appoint the new leader of the Congress Legislature Party,” read the statement from Congress on the prime minister’s issue.
Top contenders
Eight-time MLA DK Shivakumar and former CM Siddaramaiah – the two favorites for the post – have made no secret of their ambition to become CM and have been involved in a political superiority game in the past.

The Congress had delegated three central observers (former Maharashtra CM Sushil Kumar Shinde, AICC general secretary Jitendra Singh and former AICC general secretary Deepak Babaria) to oversee the meeting of the CLP and the possible election of the new prime minister.
Moments before the CLP meeting, AICC observers had held a closed meeting with Shivakumar and Siddaramaiah.
Opinion of each MLA required: Surjewala
Speaking to reporters after the meeting, AICC head of Karnataka Randeep Singh Surjewala said that Siddaramaiah had moved the single-line resolution authorizing the AICC chairman to appoint a new CLP party leader.
“The 135 MLAs in Congress proceeded to unanimously pass his resolution. It was also passed by DK Shivakumar,” Surjewala said.
“Congress Secretary-General KC Venugopal informed Kharge of the resolution. The party chief then instructed Venugopal that the three senior observers should take each MLA’s individual views and pass them on to the high command,” the incumbent state of the state said. ‘AICC.
In a media briefing, Venugopal said the party high command would make a decision on the new CM “very soon”.
“The MLA opinion taking process will be completed by the night of May 14,” he added.
High command to answer the final call: Kharge
Earlier in the day, Congress Chairman Mallikarjun Kharge had said that the CLP meeting report would be handed over to the party high command, after which “the high command will take its time to state the name of the CM”.

DK Shivakumar, Siddaramaiah: Karnataka won, Congress faces new task of deciding Prime Minister


DK Shivakumar, Siddaramaiah: Karnataka won, Congress faces new task of deciding Prime Minister

“Our observers went to Bengaluru, there will be a meeting of the CLP. After the meeting of the CLP, they will share their opinion with the high command, and then (the high command) will send their decision from Delhi,” he said. said Kharge.

In May 10 elections for the 224-member Assembly, Congress won an emphatic victory with 135 seats, while the ruling BJP and former Prime Minister HD Deve Gowda led by Janata Dal (secular) respectively secured 66 and 19 seats.
acrobatic act
Congress had entered the electoral stage with the challenge of keeping partisanship at bay, especially between the camps of Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar, who had openly rooted for their leaders, but the party stood together and kept them from emerging rifts to open and derail its prospects, under the leadership of AICC chairman Mallikarjun Kharge.

Banners had been posted in front of the residences of Siddaramaiah and Shivakumar in Bengaluru, erected by supporters, congratulating them on winning the Congress and projecting them as the ‘next CM’.
Siddaramaiah versus Shivakumar
While 60-year-old Shivakumar is regarded as a “problem solver” for Congress, Siddaramaiah has pan-Karnataka appeal.
If Siddaramaiah, who joined Congress after being expelled from the JD(S), is elected leader of the CLP, it will be his second job as Prime Minister from the party after holding the coveted post for five years between 2013- 18.

I have no difference with Siddaramaiah: DK Shivakumar


I have no difference with Siddaramaiah: DK Shivakumar

Shivakumar had served as a minister in Siddaramaiah’s cabinet.
Shivakumar has openly expressed his aspirations as Prime Minister at various events, especially those related to Vokkaligas.
He had asked the ruling community, to which he belongs, not to miss a chance with him as KPCC chairman, noting that SM Krishna was the last Vokkaliga to lead the party in the polls and then became the CM in 1999.

Indeed, in this election, the Congress greatly improved its electoral performance in the Vokkaliga dominated Old Mysuru region (South Karnataka) and this credit largely goes to Shivakumar.
Also, there have been instances in the party where whoever has successfully led as KPCC chairman in elections, was the natural choice to be the CM, such as in the case of Krishna and Veerendra Patil.
Siddaramaiah, who has seniority on his side, is known for administrative skills and has the experience of successfully serving as Prime Minister. He also enjoys the distinction of having presented 13 budgets for the state.

Being a mass leader, he has considerable influence among the AHINDA (Kannada acronym for minorities, backward classes and Dalits). Siddaramaiah’s mega 75th birthday party held in Davanagere last year, was widely seen as an attempt by him and his loyalists to project him as the future CM.
Siddaramaiah (75), who has already announced that this was his last election, argued that the CM will be elected by newly elected MLAs in consultation with the party’s high command.
(With contributions from agencies)Clock DK Shivakumar Vs Siddaramaiah: Poster war in Karnataka as fight for CM seat starts within Congress


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl