ICC World Cup 2023: Pakistan name 15-member WC squad; injured Naseem Shah ruled out, Hasan Ali returns | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Young fast bowler Naseem Shah was declared unfit for the upcoming ODI World Cup due to a shoulder injury, prompting the experienced medium pacer Hasan Ali to make an unexpected comeback as Pakistan unveiled their final 15-member squad for the tournament, set to kick off next month.
The 20-year-old Naseem sustained a shoulder injury during a match against India in the Asia Cup, and medical advice has dictated that he undergo surgery for his recovery, which is anticipated to take three to four months.
Chief Selector Inzamam ul Haq also introduced three standby players who will serve as traveling reserves for the World Cup campaign: wicketkeeper-batsman Mohammad Haris, spinner Abrar Ahmed, and the pace bowler Zaman Khan.
These players will remain on standby, ready to step in if any injuries afflict the squad during the tournament.

“We were forced to make one change because of an unfortunate injury to Naseem Shah. We had a few injury scares in the recent Asia Cup, but I am glad to share that all the players are fully fit and are eager to perform for their country in the all-important tournament,” Inzamam said in a release.
“I have received encouraging reports from our medical panel about Haris Rauf. He has started to (shadow) bowl at the National Cricket Academy and will be available for selection.
“I have a firm belief that this squad can bring the World Cup trophy to Pakistan and make the whole nation proud with their incredible performances. It is time to get behind our team and provide them with the backing and support that they need.”
Pakistan will play two warm-up matches against New Zealand on September 29 and Australia on October 3 before their tournament opener against the Netherlands on October 6.

The showpiece will be held in October and November in India.
Pakistan World Cup squad: Babar Azam (Caps), Shadab Khan (V.Capt), Muhammad Rizwan, Imam-ul-Haq, Abdullah Shafique, Saud Shakeel, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Muhammad Nawaz, Muhammad Wasim Junior, Agha Salman, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Osama Mir.
Travelling Reserves: Muhammad Haris, Abrar Ahmed, Zaman Khan.
(With inputs from PTI)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl