INGSTON: West Indies handed New Zealand their first limited series defeat of the year by claiming an eight-wicket consolation win in the third and final T20 International at Sabina Park on Sunday.
Odean Smith improved on his career-best T20I bowling numbers for the third time in four games as the fast bowling all-rounder won three for 29.

It helped limit the Black Caps to 145 for seven after captain Kane Williamson opted to strike first.
New Zealand had already concluded the series by margins of 13 and 90 points in the first two matches.
The West Indies platform for the comfortable victory was established by the openers Shamarh Brooks (56 not out) and Brandon King (53) in a 102-point opening stand.

“It was special to be able to put on that performance on home soil,” King said as he received the man of the match award for his 35-ball innings.
“My job is the same regardless of the total we are chasing, which is to get the team off to a good start.”
Leading the team in the absence of starting captain Nicholas Pooran, Rovman Powell sealed victory in style on the last ball from 19th as the home side reached 150 for two.
New Zealand struggled to establish any kind of batting momentum, although Glen Phillips was again in fine form, scoring the best with 41 from 26 before falling to Smith early in the 17th.
“The West Indies adapted well to the conditions and we just couldn’t open an inning with the ball,” Williamson conceded.
“Our goal is to ensure consistency in our performance.”
Left-arm spinner Akeal Hosein, rested from the first two games of the series, claimed two for 28.
He took the first wicket of the game when he beat Martin Guptill at third.
It was a disappointing series for the veteran in Game 1, but with Sunday’s score of 15 he at least had the satisfaction of raising his T20I run tally to 3497, ten more than India captain Rohit Sharma as as the best bowler in all of T20I cricket.
The two teams now play a three-match one-day international series starting Wednesday in Barbados.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.