PARIS: Stoffel Vandoorne clinched the Formula Electric World Drivers’ title on Sunday after finishing second in the final race of the season in Seoul in a mercedes.
Mercedes have won the constructors’ world championship title for the second consecutive year but have already announced that they will be leaving the discipline next season.
Swiss Edouardo Mortara in a Venturi won the race and finished third in the championship behind Belgian Vandoorne and New Zealander Mitch Evans in a Jaguar.
“It’s the best feeling ever,” said Vandoorne, a 30-year-old former Formula 1 driver.

“It was a great season and the team did a great job. Mitch and Edoardo pushed me all season but it was all about consistency. They have more wins than me but I have more podiums. ”
Despite winning only once this season, in Monaco, Vandoorne scored points in 15 of 16 races and finished on the podium seven times.
He succeeds his Mercedes team-mate, the Dutchman Nyck de Vries as x=champion.
The “Gen2” single-seaters will give way next year, the ninth season of the championship, to “Gen3” cars which will be lighter, more powerful and will run longer.
Mercedes has sold its team to Formula 1 rivals McLaren.
Maserati, meanwhile, has announced that it will join Formula E next season.
Raced on street circuits, Formula E is the counterpart of F1 but with fully electric cars, while Formula 1 cars use hybrid combustion engines.
Seoul E-Prix Results
1. Edoardo Mortara (SUI/Venturi) in 53min 31.680sec, 2. Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL/Mercedes) in 3.756sec, 3. Jake Dennis (GBR/Andretti) 6.649, 4. Robin Frijns (NED/Envision) 7.021, 5. Oliver Askew (USA/Andretti) 7.850, 6. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA/DS-Techeetah) 9.741, 7. Mitch Evans (NZL/Jaguar) +10.243, 8. Nick Cassidy ( NZL/Envision) 14.208, 9. Sebastien Buemi (SUI/Nissan) 16.629, 10. Antonio Felix da Costa (PRT/DS-Techeetah) 22.226
Final classification of the world championships (after 16 races)
1. Stoffel Vandoorne (BEL) 213 points, 2. Mitch Evans (NZL) 180, 3. Edoardo Mortara (SUI) 169, 4. Jean-Eric Vergne (FRA) 144, 5. Lucas di Grassi (BRA/Venturi) 126
Final ranking of manufacturers
1. Mercedes 319 points, 2. Venturi 295, 3. DS-Techeetah 266, 4. Jaguar 231, 5. Envision 194

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.