MUMBAI: Seasoned dough Harmanpreet Kaur will lead a 15-member Indian team in the inaugural women’s T20 cricket competition at the Commonwealth Games in Birmingham from July 28, the BCCI announced on Monday.
“The All India Women’s Selection Committee met on Monday to choose the squad for the upcoming Commonwealth Games 2022 in Birmingham. This will be the first time that the Women’s International T20 will be showcased in the prestigious multi-sport event.” , said the secretary of the BCCI. Jay Shah informed in a press release.

India are in Group A with Australia, Barbados and Pakistan. Sri Lanka, England, New Zealand and South Africa are placed in Group B. The top two teams from the respective pools will advance to the semi-finals. India are expected to play three games in the league phase of the tournament from July 29, 2022, according to the statement.
Opener Smriti Mandhana will be Harmanpreet’s assistant on the team, which also includes the leading hitter Shafali Verma and future bowler Meghna Singh.
Jemimah Rodrigues, who was dropped for the Women’s World Cup in New Zealand earlier this year and subsequent series before returning in the just-concluded ODI series against Sri Lanka. Playing his first international match since October 2021, Jemimah scored a crucial 36-for-27 against Sri Lanka in the first T20I in Dambulla to help India start their tour with a victory.
The Indians will play their first game against world champions Australia in Edgbaston on July 29 and face Pakistan on July 31 before completing their preliminary league commitments against Barbados on August 3, according to the statement.
The Indian women’s team: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, S. Meghana, Taniyaa Sapna Bhatia (Wk), Yastika Bhatia (Wk), Deepti Sharma, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Thakur, Jemimah Rodrigues, Radha Yadav, Harleen Deol, Sneh Rana.
Be ready: Simran Dil Bahadur, Richa Ghosh, Poonam Yadav.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.