NEW DELHI: NDA candidate and former governor of West Bengal Jagdeep Dhankhar On Saturday she comfortably won the vice-presidential election with nearly 500 votes, beating opposition-backed candidate Margaret Alva who got less than 200 votes.
Dhankhar, who will also serve as president of Rajya Sabha, will succeed incumbent M Venkaiah Naidu, whose term expires on August 10.
As many as 725 MPs, including Prime Minister Narendra Modi and former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh, voted today in the elections for the second highest constitutional seat in the country.
About 93% of the polls were recorded, with over 50 MPs not exercising their right.
While Modi and his predecessor Manmohan voted earlier in the day, opposition leaders Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi voted shortly after noon.
The Trinamool Congress, which has 39 MPs, including 23 in Lok Sabha, had already announced its decision to abstain from the elections. However, two of his MPs – Sisir Kumar Adhikari and Dibyendu Adhikari – broke ranks and voted.
Interior Minister Amit Shah, Defense Minister Rajnath Singh, BJP President JP Nadda, Education Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, and Rajya Sabha Minister of Commerce and Chamber Leader Piyush Goyal were among the leaders who stood are presented early in Parliament.


Who is Jagdeep Dhankhar?
Dhankhar, a native of Rajasthan, is the former governor of West Bengal and has been in the news frequently for his clashes with the Mamata Banerjee dispensation and his party, the Trinamool Congress.
Born on May 18, 1951 in the village of Kithana in the Jhunjhunu State District, he completed his schooling at the Sainik School in Chittorgarh.
He went on to study physics at the University of Rajasthan and also completed his LLB from the same university.
Dhankhar then practiced his profession at the Rajasthani High Court and the Supreme Court.
He entered politics in 1989 and the same year he was elected to Lok Sabha by the Jhunjhunu of Rajasthan.
Subsequently, he served as minister of state for parliamentary affairs in the Janata Dal government led by Chandra Shekhar.
From 1993 to 1998, Dhankhar represented the Ajmer district Kishangarh constituency in the Rajasthani assembly.
It belongs to the Jat community and is destined to be the first OBC vice president of India.
(With input from agencies)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.