DHAKA: The versatile Shakib Al Hasan has been named captain of Bangladesh for the next Asian Cup and T20 World Cup.
The BCB also announced a 17-member squad for the Asian Cup, which will be played in the United Arab Emirates from August 27.
The 15th edition of the Asian Cup tournament will be played in the United Arab Emirates between six teams (main event). Defending champions India are also the most successful team, having lifted the trophy seven times. While the last edition of the tournament was held in the ODI format, this edition will feature the T20 format.
The six teams are split into two groups with India, Pakistan and one team qualifying in Group A; and Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan forming Group B. Each team plays the other once in the group stage, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the Super 4 round. The top 2 teams in the Super 4 will qualify for the final.
Shakib will not only lead Bangladesh in the upcoming Asian Cup but also the Tri-Nation T20 series involving Pakistan and New Zealand in October followed by the 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia.
Bangladesh squad for the Asian Cup: Shakib Al Hasan (captain), Anamul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Hasan Mahmud, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Sabbir RahmanMehidy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Parvez Hossain Emon, Nurul Hasan Sohan and Taskin Ahmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.