PUNE: Indian shuttles Unnati Hooda and Darshan Pujari signed as second best after being beaten by their respective opponents in the women’s and men’s under-19 finals at Indian Junior International Grand Prix on Sunday.
Hooda, 14, the youngest commuter to win a BWF Super 100 tournament in Odisha this year, battled Thailand 25-23 17-21 10-21. Sarunrak Vitidsarn in the clash at the top.
Darshan’s dream run in the tournament also came to an end after he lost 13-21 13-21 to Indonesia’s Muhammad Halim As Sidiq in the men’s U-19 final at the Modern PDMBA Sports Complex.
Darshan went into the final without conceding a single game, but he was beaten by his rival’s clear winners and also by his own unforced errors.
In the opener, Darshan opened up a 5-3 advantage but a five-point flurry put the Indonesian ahead and he soon managed to take an 11-6 lead.
Two more bursts of three points each gave Muhammed the lead at 17-7, a gap Darshan was unable to close.
In game two, the 18-year-old Indian won the first point but then lost the next eight to trail 1-8 and struggled to catch up afterwards.
In the women’s final, Unnati was guilty of wasting an advantage in the opening game as No.9 seed Sarunrak rallied to shock India’s No.3 seed in a tense game.
Sarunrak, the younger sister of three-time world junior champion Kunlavut Vitidsarn, lost the opening game after conceding up to seven match points.
However, in the following two matches, the Thai, ranked No. 125 in the world, ensured that she took control and made no mistakes like she did in the first match and won the title after a 50 minute battle.
india Ridhi Kaur Toor won the mixed doubles title alongside Divyam Arora after winning an all-Indian final, reclaiming the women’s doubles crown that slipped through her fingers earlier in the day.
Ridhi and Divyam overcame Prem Kumar Prabhu Raj Mohan and Kanishka Ganesan 21-17 14-21 21-15 in a 46-minute encounter to lift the mixed trophy.
Earlier, Ridhi finished second in the women’s doubles after she and Nardhana Ravishankar lost 19-21 18-21 to fellow Indians Vennala Kalagotla and Shriyanshi Valishetty in the summit clash.
Men’s singles final: 7-Muhammad Halim As Sidiq (Indonesia) against Darshan Pujari 21-13, 21-13 (29 min)
Ladies’ singles final: 9-Sarunrak Vitidsarn (Thailand) bt 3-Unnati Hooda 23-25, 21-17, 21-10 (50 minutes)
Women’s doubles finals: Vennala Kalagotla/ Shriyanshi Valishetty bt Nardhana Ravishankar/ Ridhi Kaur Toor 21-19, 21-18 (32 minutes)
Men’s doubles final: 4-Choi Jian Sheng/ Bryan Jeremy Goonting (Malaysia) against 2-JUan Jeremy Zhen Liang/ M Fazriq Mohamad Razif (Malaysia) 21-17, 21-13 (34 minutes)
Mixed doubles finals: Divyam Arora/ Ridhi Kaur Toor v Prem Kumar Prabhu Raj Mohan/ Kanishka Ganesan 21-17, 14-21, 21-15 (46 minutes).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.