NEW DELHI: Droupadi Murmù on Monday he will take over as India’s 15th president. The Union Interior Ministry said the swearing-in ceremony will take place in the central hall of the Parliament at around 10:15 am, where the head of Indian Justice (CJI) NV Ramana will administer the swearing in of the President’s office.
Script history
On July 21, the 64-year-old made history to become the first tribal leader to be elected to the highest constitutional office in the country.

She will be the first President to be born after Independence and she is the youngest to occupy the first place. She is also the second woman to become president, after Pratibha Patil; she is also the second president of Odisha, after VV Giri. You will succeed the 14th president Ram Nath Kovind.

Page-16 Graph-2

Swearing-in ceremony
According to a detailed program published by the President’s Secretariat, elaborate arrangements were made for the July 25 swearing-in ceremony.

The program should start at Rashtrapati Bhavan around 9 am and transfer to Parliament an hour later.
At 10 am, present Kovind and President-elect Murmu will arrive at the Parliament where they will be received by the President of Rajya Sabha, the President of Lok Sabha and the President of the Supreme Court of India.

The President-elect will be delivered in the form of an oath by CJI NV Ramana. Then he will proceed to administer the oath to Murmu. This will be followed by a 21-gun salute.
The day’s work will end with the first speech by the new President at around 10.30.

At the end of the ceremony, the new President will leave for Rashtrapati Bhavan where she will be given an inter-service honor guard in the forecourt and the courtesies will be extended to the outgoing President.
She will be an exceptional President: PM
Murmu won by an overwhelming margin against opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha after receiving over 64% valid votes in one day of ballot counting from MPs and MLAs, including the constituency. After the end of the counting process which continued for more than 10 hours, returning officer PC Mody declared Murmu the winner and claimed he got 6.76,803 votes to Sinha’s 3.80,177.

Page-1 Chart-1

Shortly after her victory, Prime Minister Narendra Modi visited Murmu’s residence to congratulate her as she took an unbeatable advantage over Sinha.

“India writes history. At a time when 1.3 billion Indians are marking Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav, a daughter of India from a tribal community born in a remote part of eastern India was elected our President Congratulations to Smt. Drupadi Murmu Ji on this feat, “premier Modi tweeted.
“Drupadi Murmu Ji’s life, her early struggles, her rich service and exemplary success motivate every Indian. She has emerged as a ray of hope for our citizens, especially the poor, marginalized and oppressed,” he added.

Tenth consecutive president to be sworn in on July 25
Murmu will become the 10th consecutive president to be sworn in on July 25 since 1977.
Records show that since 1977, successive presidents have been sworn in on July 25.
India’s first president, Rajendra Prasad, was sworn in on January 26, 1950, the day India became a republic.

In 1952 he won the first presidential poll. He won the second presidential election and remained in office until May 1962.
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan was sworn in as president on May 13, 1962 and remained in office until May 13, 1967.
Two presidents – Zakir Husain and Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed – could not complete their post as they died under control.

Neelam Sanjiva Reddy, the sixth president of India, was sworn in on July 25, 1977. Since then successive presidents including Giani Zail Singh, R Venkataraman, Shankar Dayal SharmaKR Narayanan, APJ Abdul Kalam, Pratibha Patil, Pranab Mukherjee and Ram Nath Kovind were sworn in on 25 July.
(With input from agencies)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.