The Indian team had a below average outing at the recent T20 World Cup in Australia, by their standards. They were beaten in the semi-finals by England by 10 wickets. Barely a week later, some Indians and New Zealand players who were part of the T20 World Cup will return to the pitch for a bilateral series โ€“ first in a three-game T20I series, then for an equal number of ODIs.
Ahead of the first T20I in Wellington on Friday, takes a look at some very interesting stats and trivia regarding the India v New Zealand the rivalry in the T20I concerns:
1. Of the 20 T20Is contested against each other, India won eleven and New Zealand won nine.
2. India had won single-round playoffs in successive matches after tied games – one each at Seddon Park, Hamilton on 29 January 2020 and Sky Stadium, Wellington on 31 January 2020.
3. Interestingly, India had lost their first five T20Is against New Zealand between 2007 and 2016.

4. India’s successive defeats have been – by 10 points in Johannesburg on 16-9-2007; by 7 wickets in Christchurch on 25-2-2009; by 5 wickets in Wellington on 27-2-2009; by 1 race at Chennai on 11-9-2012 and by 47 races at Nagpur on 15-3-2016.
5. Before losing by 8 wickets in Dubai on 31 October 2021, India had won five T20Is against New Zealand – all in 2020. India’s wins were 6 wickets in Auckland on 24-1-2020 ; by 7 wickets in Auckland on 26-1-20; by one-of-two eliminators at Hamilton on 29-1-20 and Wellington on 31-1-20 and by 7 runs at Mount Maunganui on 2-2-20.
6. New Zealand have won all three of their T20 World Cup matches against India – by 10 runs in Johannesburg on September 16, 2007, by 47 runs in Nagpur on March 15, 2016 and by 8 wickets in Dubai on October 31, 2021 .
7. India had beaten New Zealand 5-0 in the bilateral series in 2019-20 New Zealand – India’s first clean sweep against an opponent with such a margin.

8. Lokesh Rahul was named New Zealand’s 2019-20 Series Player of the Series – his only Series Player award so far.
9. Rahul’s total of 224 (average 56.00), including two fifty, in five innings at a strike rate of 144.51 in 2019-20 was the highest on either side. Rahul’s tally is a record for any bilateral series involving India and New Zealand in the T20I.
10. Shardul Thakur’s total of 8 wickets at 19.62 runs apiece in five matches in 2019-20 remains the highest for either side.
11. New Zealand’s total of 219 for six in Wellington on February 6, 2019 is the highest innings total against India in the T20I.

12. New Zealand’s thrilling victory by 1 point in Chennai on September 11, 2012 remains their narrowest winning margin against India in the T20I.
13. India’s 208 for six in Hamilton on February 10, 2019 is the highest innings total against New Zealand in the T20I.
14. Colin Munro’s 109 not wasted 58 balls at Rajkot on November 4, 2017 remains the only hundred either side in the T20Is.
15. Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan scored exactly 80 at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on November 1, 2017 – the highest individual score for India against New Zealand in the T20I.
16. Shikhar Dhawan and Rohit Sharma put up a stand of 158 (first wicket) in Delhi on November 1, 2017 – India’s highest partnership for any wicket against New Zealand in the T20I.

17. 98 balls faced by Dhawan and Rohit in the aforementioned partnership are the most faced by an Indian pair for any wicket against any opponent in Twenty20 Internationals.
18. Dhawan/Rohit’s 158-run stand was the first stand of the century for India against New Zealand in the T20Is.
19. Mitchell Santer’s career-best T20I numbers are the best by a New Zealand bowler in T20I and in the T20 World Cup against India – 4 for 11 in Nagpur on 15-3-2016.
20. Daniel Vettori’s career-best T20I figures also came against India in the T20 World Cup
21. Axar Patel’s excellent 3 for 9 figures at Eden Gardens, Kolkata on November 21, 2021 were produced by him against New Zealand.

22. Under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, India have won six and lost two of the eight T20Is contested against New Zealand โ€“ winning % 62.50 while five of seven have been won under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma โ€“ winning % 71.42.
23. Rohit Sharma’s tally of 511 carries at an average of 34.06, including six fifty, in 17 innings is the highest either side of the T20Is involving India and New Zealand.
24. Tim Southee, with 129 wickets at 24.17 runs apiece in 105 games, is Twenty20 Internationals top wicket-taker overall.
25. Ish Sodhi remains the only New Zealand bowler to produce three four-wicket runs in T20I – 4 for 28 against Australia in Christchurch on 22 February 2021; 4 for 28 against Bangladesh in Hamilton on March 28, 2021 and 4 for 28 against Scotland in Edinburgh on July 27, 2022. (all three numbers are the same)
(Stats courtesy of Rajesh Kumar)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *