Mohammad Rizwan, who is not in Pakistan’s playing XI, came out as a substitute and replaced the unfit Babar on the pitch. Rizwan was also seen laying the groundwork as he assumed leadership responsibilities, after the Pakistani team’s management named him as the team’s acting captain.
Awarded for tight lines maintained this morning ☝️Excellent review 👏#PAKvNZ | #TayyariKiwiHai https://t.co/jejexv1v7n
— Pakistani Cricket (@TheRealPCB) 1672206021000
But the confusion came when the wicket keeper Ahmed Sarfaraz opted for a review after Devon Conway was not ruled out Nauman Ali. The on-court referee’s decision was overturned in favor of Pakistan.
But it was clarified that Sarfaraz, not Rizwan, was the substitute captain. and the Pakistani management was also informed that substitutes were not allowed to lead a team on the pitch.
MCC Law – 24.1.2 – suggests: “A substitute shall not play or act as captain, but may only act as wicket-keeper with the consent of the umpires.”