ATK Mohun Bagan beat Bengaluru FC 4-3 on penalties to win maiden Indian Super League title | Football News

NEW DELHI: ATK Mohun Bagan held their nerves in throbbing emotion Indian Super League (ISL) Final as they beat Bangalore F.C. 4-3 on penalties to lift the girl SIL title at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa on Saturday.
As winners, ATKMB won a Rs 6 crore prize money, while runners-up Bengaluru FC received Rs 2.5 crore.
In a match that ended 2-2 in regulation time, ATKMB Dimitri Petratos scored all three penalties he took the night before Vishal Kaithis recorded from Bruno Ramires‘ during the shooting brought them closer.
Bengaluru FC’s Pablo Perez then kicked over the bar as the Mariners sealed the result in a game they had thrown Bengaluru FC off balance early on.

Bengaluru FC were forced to bring in Chhetri early after Sivasakthi Narayanan was stretched in the opening seconds of the match. Things got even further off plan in the 13th minute when Krishna handled the ball from a Petratos corner as ATKMB were awarded a penalty.
Petratos finished the job on the spot to put his team ahead. ATKMB used this advantage to put pressure on Bengaluru FC, who picked up a glut of yellow cards on the pitch and another for head coach Simon Grayson.

But in the final minute of first-half stoppage time, they were able to come back when Bose missed the ball and made contact with Krishna as he attempted a clearance. Chhetri stepped forward to take it and sent Kaith the wrong way to restore parity.

In the final quarter of the match, Rohit’s shot from the edge of the box created a series of corners, before a deflection found Krishna at the far post – the striker waved home in the 78th minute.
But five minutes from the end, the match was square again. Outside the Bengaluru FC penalty area, Kiyan Nassiri fell after Perez nudged him as ATKMB won their second penalty of the night. Petratos was on hand to score again.
In the third minute of added time, Asish Rai’s shot on goal was cleared from the line by Prabir Das. Moments later, Colaco and Nassiri almost combined to score, but Bruno Ramires provided the crucial interception as the game entered extra time.

In extra time, Udanta Singh and Rohit failed to score with their respective chances, while Manvir missed by a few yards for ATKMB. Towards the end of extra time, Sandhu knocked down Petratos’ long-range shot but it bounced back for a corner which went nowhere before the game went to a penalty shootout.
In the nervy penalty shoot-out, Golden Glove winner Kaith backed his side up for the second game in a row as no one missed in a penalty-driven game throughout.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl