Shiv Sena: SC Five-Judge Constitution Bench To Deliver Verdict Thursday On 2022 Maharashtra Political Row | News from India

NEW DELHI: The Supreme Court will deliver its verdict on Thursday on a series of cross-petitions filed by Uddhav Thackeray and Eknath Shinde Shiv Sena factions related to 2022 Maharashtra political crisis.
A five-judge constitutional panel led by Chief Justice DY Chandrachud will deliver its verdict on pleas related to the political crisis that led to the fall of the tripartite MVA government led by Uddhav Thackeray following a Shinde uprising.
According to the list of cases published on the Supreme Court’s website, a single sentence will be handed down by Justice Chandrachud.
On March 16, the supreme court reserved its verdict on the reasons after lengthy discussions by both sides that lasted for nine days starting on February 21.
On the last day of the hearing, the highest court had wondered how to restore the government of Uddhav Thackeray when the chief minister had filed his papers even before facing the floor test, after the faction he led had lined up to set aside the office of governor June 2022 order to the CM for a showdown in the House.
The Thackeray faction filed vehement remarks before the court urging it to “go back in time” and restore the “status quo ante” (previously existing state of affairs) as it did in 2016 when it reinstated Nabam Tuki as chief minister of Arunachal Pradesh.
The bench also includes judges MR Shah, Krishna Murari, Hima Kohli and PS Narasimha.
Uddhav Thackeray’s faction was represented by senior barristers Kapil Sibal, AM Singhvi, Devadatt Kamat and barrister Amit Anand Tiwari, while the Shinde camp was represented by senior barristers Neeraj Kishan Kaul, Harish Salve, Mahesh Jethmalani and barrister Abhikalp Pratap Singh.
Attorney General Tushar Mehta represented the governor’s office.
On February 17, the Supreme Court refused to refer a number of appeals related to Maharashtra’s political crisis triggered by a split in the Shiv Sena to a panel of seven judges for review of the 2016 Nabam Rebia ruling on Arunachal Pradesh.
The 2016 ruling concerned the powers of the meeting rapporteur and established that the same cannot proceed with motions for forfeiture of the MLA if a notice of dismissal of the rapporteur is pending before the Chamber.
On 29 June 2022, at the height of Maharashtra’s turmoil, the apex court had refused to suspend the Governor’s direction to the 31-month Thackeray-led MVA government to stand a ground test.
Sensing defeat, Thackeray resigned, catapulting a Shiv Sena-BJP dispensation led by Shinde to power.
On August 23, 2022, a three-judge panel of the supreme court led by then Chief Justice NV Ramana had formulated several questions of law and referred to the petitions of the five-judge panel filed by the two factions of the Sena which raised several constitutional issues related to defection, merger and forfeiture.
In a blow to the Thackeray bloc, the Election Commission earlier this year declared the Shinde faction as the true Shiv Sena and awarded it the bow and arrow symbol of the party founded by Balasaheb Thackeray.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl