‘Ravindra Jadeja didn’t change his angle…’: Michael Hussey on allrounder obstructing the field dismissal | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Chennai Super Kings batting coach Michael Hussey expressed his view on Sunday, suggesting that the decision to dismiss Ravindra Jadeja for obstructing the field could have swung either way.
Jadeja found himself in the rare position of becoming the third batter in IPL history to be given out for obstructing the field following a communication mishap with skipper Ruturaj Gaikwad during their match against Rajasthan Royals.

Amidst confusion over a potential second run, Jadeja halted halfway down the pitch, prompting the fielder at third man to throw the ball to wicketkeeper Sanju Samson, who aimed it back towards the bowler’s end.

The resulting throw struck Jadeja, leading to an appeal from RR and eventual confirmation by the third umpire, who determined that Jadeja was aware of the ball’s trajectory.

“Didn’t look closely at it. He did try to turn around, so he changed his angle a little bit. But he didn’t change his angle while running straight,” Hussey told reporters during the post-match interaction.

“I can see both sides of the story. I can understand the umpire making the decision. The rule says you cannot change your line, so maybe, it was a fair call.”
CSK won the match by five wickets to keep their playoff hopes alive.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl