Virat Kohli: Watch: Virat Kohli receives ICC ODI Player of the Year 2023 award | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Virat Kohli has been honoured with the ICC ODI Player of the Year award and named in the ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year for 2023. This recognition was announced in New York as the Indian team gears up for their T20 World Cup opening match against Ireland scheduled for June 5.
The International Cricket Council (ICC) celebrated Kohli’s achievements by sharing a video on social media platforms, showcasing the presentation of his award and cap, a testament to his exceptional performance throughout 2023.

ALSO SEE: T20 World Cup Schedule

Watch the video here:

At 35, Kohli has experienced a resurgence in form, marking a significant high point in his career after a period of fluctuating performances. Over the course of 27 One Day Internationals (ODIs) in 2023, he amassed 1,377 runs, boasting an average of 72.47 and a strike rate of 99.13. His remarkable consistency was highlighted by scoring six centuries and eight half-centuries across 24 innings, with his highest score being an unbeaten 166.
Kohli’s instrumental role in India’s victory at the Asia Cup 2023 was underscored by a memorable innings of 122 not out off 94 balls against Pakistan during the Super Four stage.
His abilities continued to shine at the ODI World Cup hosted by India, where he led an extraordinary campaign. Accumulating 765 runs in 11 matches, he averaged 95.62, with his tally including three centuries and six fifties. His top score in the tournament was 117.
His outstanding performance not only crowned him as the leading run-scorer of the tournament but also set a new record for the most runs scored in a single World Cup edition, surpassing Sachin Tendulkar‘s previous record of 673 runs set in 2003. Additionally, Kohli broke Tendulkar’s record of 49 ODI centuries by scoring his 50th in the semifinal against New Zealand.
Looking ahead, Kohli is set to represent India in the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup hosted by the West Indies and the USA. He enters the tournament on the back of winning the Orange Cap for the most runs in the Indian Premier League (IPL), where he scored 741 runs in 15 matches at an average of 61.75 and a strike rate of over 154.
(Inputs from ANI)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

GreenLeaf Tw2sl